The AndyGram

Friday, Aug 12th

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2015-16 Reviews 2013-14 Season Press Releases Tony Awards Announces 2013-14 Tony Awards Nominating Committee
Monday, 15 July 2013 21:08

Tony Awards Announces 2013-14 Tony Awards Nominating Committee

The Tony Awards
2013-2014 TONY AWARDS®


New York, NY (July 15, 2013) – The Tony Awards Administration Committee today announced the Nominating Committee for the 2013-2014 Broadway season.  The Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing.

The Nominating Committee attends all productions during the Broadway season and meets on the date designated by the Administration Committee to determine, by vote, the Tony Award nominees for that season.  The committee of Tony Nominators, which has been expanded to 46 members for the 2013-2014 season, includes:

Douglas Aibel – Artistic Dir., The Vineyard Theatre*

Arin Arbus – Associate Artistic Dir., Theatre for a New Audience

John Arnone – Scenic Designer

Ira Bernstein – Former Producer/General Manager/Stage Manager*

Susan Birkenhead- Lyricist

Mark Brokaw – Artistic Dir., Yale Institute for Music Theatre/Director

Donald Byrd – Choreographer

Ben Cameron – Program Dir. for the Arts, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, NY

Mary Schmidt Campbell – Dean, Tisch School of the Arts

Veronica Claypool – Arts Management Consultant, Full Circle Management* Group/Former GM

Douglas J. Cohen – Composer/Lyricist/Playwright

Ida Cole – Founding Dir., Seattle Theatre Group*

John Darnton – Former Cultural Editor, The New York Times

Jacqueline Z. Davis – Executive Dir., The NY Public Library for the P. A. at Lincoln Center

Rick Elice – Playwright

Boyd Gaines – Actor

Kent Gash – Director/Founding Dir., of NYU Tisch School of the Arts’ New Studio on Broadway*

Liza Gennaro – Choreographer

Kathryn Grody – Actor/Writer

Adam Guettel – Composer/Lyricist

Wendall K. Harrington – Projection Designer/Lecturer

Susan Hilferty – Costume Designer

Philip Himberg – Producing Artistic Dir., Sundance Institute Theatre Program*

Ann Hould-Ward – Costume Designer

Julie Hughes – Former Casting Director*

Cheyenne Jackson - Actor

Abe Jacob – Sound Designer

Stephen Karam – Playwright*

Anne Kauffman – Director

Corby Kummer – Senior Editor, The Atlantic Magazine*

Dick Latessa – Actor*

John Leguizamo – Actor/Playwright

Sara Lukinson – Documentary Film Producer/Television Writer*

Pam MacKinnon – Director

Marsha Mason – Actor/Playwright*

Susan Rice – Playwright/Screenwriter

Mervyn Rothstein – Retired Writer & Editor, The New York Times

Scott Schwartz – Director*

Linda Shelton – Executive Dir., Joyce Theatre Foundation*

Arlene Shuler – President & CEO, New York City Center*

Tobie S. Stein – Dir. Graduate Program in Performing Arts and Mgt., Brooklyn College

Robert Viagas – Playbill Program Director/Editor

Carol Waaser – Retired AEA Official/Company & Stage Manager*

Robin Wagner – Scenic Designer

Tony Walton – Scenic/Costume Designer, Director

Chay Yew – Playwright/Director

*Denotes new committee members.

For more information on the Tony Awards, please visit and, follow @TheTonyAwards and use #tonyawards on Twitter and Instagram. 

# # #

About the Tony Awards

The American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Nick Scandalios is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is Executive Director. At the American Theatre Wing, William Ivey Long is Chairman and Heather Hitchens is Executive Director. Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment were the Executive Producers of the 2013 Tony Awards. Mr. Weiss will also served as Director of the 2013 Tony Awards.

Last modified on Monday, 15 July 2013 21:12