The AndyGram

Sunday, May 31st

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2015-16 Reviews 2012-13 Season Press Releases Nominees Announced for the Third Annual Clive Barnes Awards
Friday, 19 October 2012 12:21

Nominees Announced for the Third Annual Clive Barnes Awards


The Clive Barnes Foundation has announced the nominees for the 2012 Clive Barnes Awards, a distinguished annual honor recognizing the work of young actors and dancers in New York City.  This years' nominees for theatre are Joaquina Kalukango for her performance in Signature Theatre Company's production of Katori Hall's Hurt VillageDerek Klena for his performance in Second Stage Theatre's production of Dogfight, directed by Joe Mantello,  Rob McClure for his performance in Chaplin, now in performances at the Barrymore Theatre, and Stephen Tyrone Williams for his performance in Signature Theatre Company's production of Athol Fugard's My Children, My Africa. For dance, the nominees are Lauren Lovette (New York City Ballet), Steven Melendez (New York Theater Ballet), and Ashley Murphy (Dance Theater of Harlem).

One recipient from each category will be chosen and the winners announced on Monday, December 10, 2012 at 2:30pm at The Walter Reade Theatre, Lincoln Center.

The Clive Barnes Foundation was formed in 2009 by Valerie Taylor Barnes, former soloist with The Royal Ballet, to create Annual Awards giving recognition, encouragement, and financial support to two talented young professionals and thus, honoring the memory of the immense body of critical work and warm personal generosity of Clive Barnes. Throughout his professional life, Clive Barnes was caring and generous to his colleagues and friends; always ready to advise and listen. After his death, many condolence letters spoke of his generosity and practical help, especially to young people. The Awards will be given at the end of each year, judged by a panel of experts in each field. Presenters have included Frederic Franklin, Cherry Jones, and Nina Arianda (2010 Clive Barnes Award winner, 2012 Tony Award Winner for Venus in Fur) and previous winners are Chase Finlay (2010, New York City Ballet),Nina Arianda (2010, Venus in Fur), Mj Rodriquez (2011, RENT), and Isabella Boylston (2011, American Ballet Theater).

The Selection Committee for the Clive Barnes Award includes Edward Albee, Alexandra Ansanelli, Gwin Joh Chin, Barbara Hoffman, Jacques le Sourd, Arthur Mitchell, Patrick Pacheco, Valerie Taylor-Barnes, Damian Woetzel and Craig Wright. 

Serving on the Clive Barnes Foundation Boad of Directors is Valerie Taylor Barnes, Brenda Anderson

William H. Ausman, Gwin Joh Chin, Jennifer Dunning, Jacques le Sourd, Michael Reidel, Spring Sirkin, Damien Woetzel and Craig Wright.