The AndyGram

Thursday, Oct 06th

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2015-16 Reviews 2012-13 Season Press Releases Primary Stages to Honor Tyne Daly, Jamie Deroy and Ted Snowdon at Annual Gala
Tuesday, 21 August 2012 11:54

Primary Stages to Honor Tyne Daly, Jamie Deroy and Ted Snowdon at Annual Gala



Primary Stages (Casey Childs, Founder & Executive Producer; Andrew Leynse, Artistic Director; Elliot Fox, Managing Director) have announced that their annual Gala will take place Wednesday, November 14, 2012 at The Edison Ballroom (240 W. 47th Street). The event will honor Tony Award winner Tyne Daly (Master Class, Rabbit Hole, Gypsy), and producers and Primary Stages board members Jamie deRoy, and Ted Snowdon.  The Gala Chair is Tom Kirdahy.

“Primary Stages created the Commitment to New Plays Award to spotlight individuals who have made it a major focus of their careers to champion new plays and new playwrights,” says Casey Childs.  “Since its inception, we have honored such luminaries of the American theater as Terrence McNally, Stephen Sondheim, Betty Comden and Adolph Green, Harvey Fierstein, and A.R. Gurney, among others.”

Jamie deRoy and Ted Snowdon have been longtime Board members of Primary Stages and they have helped to produce numerous productions of new American plays on Broadway, at Primary Stages and other Off Broadway venues.  Jamie has been a major supporter of the cabaret world as well.

Tyne Daly has spent a good deal of her theater career focused on new plays and new play development on Broadway, Off Broadway and in regional theater.  As a starring leading lady, she has appeared in such plays as Rabbit Hole on Broadway, It Should Have Been You at George Street Playhouse, as well as the recent revival of Terrence McNally’s Master Class.  She has been a great friend to playwrights.

For more information or to purchase, call Joe Sonenshein at 212-840-9705 or visit  Premier Sponsor Tables are $25,000; Platinum Tables are $15,000; Gold Tables are $10,000; Silver Tables are $7,500; Bronze Tickets are $1,000; and Individual tickets are $500.

Primary Stages is an Off-Broadway theater company dedicated to inspiring, supporting, and sharing the art of playwriting. We operate on the strongly held belief that the future of American theater relies on nurturing playwrights and giving them the artistic support needed to create new work. Since our founding in 1984, we have produced more than 100 new plays, including Kate Fodor’s Rx; Charles Busch’s Olive and the Bitter Herbs; A.R. Gurney’s Black Tie; Horton Foote’s Dividing the Estate (two Tony Award® nominations); Brooke Berman’s Hunting and Gathering; Terrence McNally’s Dedication or The Stuff of Dreams (starring Nathan Lane and Marian Seldes) and The Stendhal Syndrome (featuring Isabella Rossellini and Richard Thomas); Danai Gurira and Nikkole Salter’s In the Continuum (which went on to tour the U.S., Africa and Scotland); David Ives’ All in the Timing; and Conor McPherson’s St. Nicholas (which marked the playwright’s U.S. debut). Primary Stages was honored with the Lucille Lortel Award for Outstanding Body of Work, which encompasses much more than the plays we produce for the stage. Primary Stages supports playwrights and develops new works through commissions, workshops, readings and our two flagship programs—The Dorothy Strelsin New American Writers Group and the Marvin and Anne Einhorn School of Performing Arts (ESPA). Through these programs, Primary Stages advocates for our artists, helping them make important—and often transformative—connections within the theater community.