The AndyGram

Wednesday, May 22nd

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2015-16 Reviews 2012-13 Season Press Releases American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for 2013 Jonathan Larson Grants
Monday, 30 July 2012 20:40

American Theatre Wing Now Accepting Applications for 2013 Jonathan Larson Grants

The American Theatre Wing



SEPTEMBER 14, 2012

New York, NY (July 30, 2012) – The American Theatre Wing today announced that applications are now being accepted for the 2013 Jonathan Larson® Grants.  The grants, given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers, help to continue Tony® Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theatre with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality. 

{module ad_left_body}Applications must be post marked by September 14, 2012.  Recipients of the grant receive an unrestricted cash grant, a public performance of their work in spring 2013, and an invitation to participate in a residency at the Running Deer Musical Theatre Lab in Washington State for the summer of 2013.

All applications must include book, music, and lyrics from one or more works of musical theatre.  Individuals may apply for support of their work if it includes all three disciplines.  Regular collaborators are encouraged to apply as a team and submit one application.  Applicants may only apply once per grant cycle.  For complete guidelines and application materials, visit

Originally administered by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation (from 1997-2008), the Jonathan Larson Grants became a part of The Wing in 2009, adding to the organization’s storied history of programs designed to support theatre professionals at the beginning of their careers.  Under the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation and now the American Theatre Wing, more than 90 composers, lyricists and book writers have been recognized at the start of their careers. 

Past recipients of Jonathan Larson Grants include Chad Beguelin and Matthew Sklar, Nell Benjamin, John Bucchino, Kirsten Childs, Joshua Cohen and Marisa Michelson, Michelle Elliott and Danny Larsen, Ricky Ian Gordon, Amanda Green, Joe Iconis, Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey, Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond, Michael Korie, Dave Malloy, Andy Monroe and Michael Zam, Laurence O’Keefe, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, and Ryan Scott Oliver.  Last year’s recipients were Julianne Wick Davis and Dan Collins.

Jonathan Larson’s critically acclaimed musical Rent is currently playing at Off Broadway’s New World Stages.  During its landmark Broadway run, the musical received numerous awards and honors, including a Tony® Award for Best Musical, an Obie Award and the Pulitzer Prize.  The original Broadway production closed in September 2008, and currently sits as the 9th longest running musical in Broadway history.  Jonathan Larson® is a registered trademark of Skeeziks LLC.

The American Theatre Wing (William Ivey Long, Chairman, Board of Directors; Heather Hitchens, Executive Director) is a not-for-profit organization best known as the creator of the Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards®, which it presents annually with The Broadway League. In addition to the Jonathan Larson Grants, the Wing sponsors many programs, all dedicated to recognizing excellence and supporting education in theatre. At, visitors who want to learn more about the making of theatre can listen to, watch or download from ATW’s extensive media collection, including “Downstage Center,” “In The Wings,” “Working in the Theatre,” and a host of other online resources.  Follow ATW on, and

#  #  #  #  #

Last modified on Monday, 30 July 2012 20:45