The AndyGram

Friday, Aug 12th

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2015-16 Reviews 2010-11 Theatre Press Releases Manhattan Class Company Adds More Names to MISCAST 2011
Thursday, 10 March 2011 11:17

Manhattan Class Company Adds More Names to MISCAST 2011




“ M I S C A S T   2  0  1  1 ”






MONDAY, MARCH 14, 2011

MCC THEATER (Robert LuPone, Bernard Telsey, William Cantler, Artistic Directors; Blake West, Executive Director) has announced fabulous additions to their all-star line-up for the company’s highly anticipated 25th anniversary gala honoring a host of MCC artists past and present at Miscast 2011.  Complementing the glittering, previously announced Miscast will be Christian Borle (Angels In America, Legally Blonde), Justin Guarini (“American Idol,American Idiot, Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown) and Josh Henry (Scottsboro Boys, American Idiot).  Andy Cohen (Hostof Bravo TV’s“Watch What Happens Live”) will host the evening, which will take place Monday, March 14, 2011 at The Hammerstein Ballroom (311 West 34th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues).

David Duchovny (star of the recent MCC Theater hit, The Break of Noon), Téa Leoni, Hugh Dancy (star of yet another recent MCC hit, The Pride) and Claire Danes are this year’s honorary chairs.  Funds raised from Miscast help MCC Theater produce some of the most talked-about new work Off Broadway and support their Youth Company and in-school partnerships that serve  New York City public high school students, as well as their literary development work with emerging playwrights.

“We are doing something completely different to celebrate our 25th Anniversary,” explained Artistic Director Bernard Telsey.  “This year we are not honoring one person, but rather a group of superb artists, all alumni of MCC, who inspire us by their willingness to take big leaps and risks and, in doing so, have helped make MCC an Off Broadway leader.”

Miscast 2011 will honor:

Jo Bonney                     Director, Fat Pig 2005, The Break of Noon 2010 and more

Patrick Breen           Founding member, actor/playwright, Fast Eddie 1987 and more

Charles Busch          Actor/playwright, The Third Story 2009

Norbert Leo Butz      Actor, Fifty Words 2008

Kathleen Chalfant    Actor, Wit 1998, Family Week 2010

Veanne Cox                   Actor, The Wooden Breeks 2006, Spain 2007

Rosemarie DeWitt   Actor, Family Week 2010

David Greenspan       Actor/playwright, Coraline 2009

Michael Greif               Director, The Distance From Here 2004, A Very Common Procedure 2007 and more

Peter Hedges                            Playwright, CLASS1ACTS, Good as New 1993 and more

T.R. Knight                   Actor, Scattergood 2003

Swoosie Kurtz          Actor, Frozen 2004

Neil LaBute                   Playwright, Fat Pig 2005, Reasons to Be Pretty 2008 and more

Melissa Leo                    Actor, The Distance From Here 2004

Judith Light                 Actor, Wit 1999, Colder Than Here 2005

Joe Mantello                 Director, The Pride 2010, The Other Place 2011

Elizabeth Marvel       Actor, Fifty Words 2008

Brían F. O'Byrne     Actor, Frozen 2004

Sarah Paulson          Actor, Colder Than Here 2005, Still Life 2010

Amanda Peet                            Actor, The Break of Noon 2010

Piper Perabo                 Actor, Reasons to Be Pretty 2008

Adina Porter                 Actor, Girl Gone 1994

Connie Ray                    Actor, Fast Eddie 1987, Forgetting Frankie 1990 and more

Thomas Sadoski         Actor, Reasons to Be Pretty 2008

Liev Schreiber             Actor, The Mercy Seat 2002

Leigh Silverman        Director, Coraline 2009

Lucy Thurber           Playwright, MCC Youth Company Playlab director

Marisa Tomei           Actor, Beirut 1986, Sharon and Billy 1988

Frederick Weller       Actor, In a Dark Dark House 2007, Still Life 2010

Michael Weller         Playwright, Fifty Words 2008, Side Effects 2011

Miscast 2011 is a musical spectacular featuring Broadway’s hottest stars performing songs from roles in which they would never be cast.  This year’s roster of performers for this one-of-a-kind theatrical evening also includes Brian d'Arcy James (Next to Normal, Shrek), Kelsey Fowler (Sunday in the Park with George, Grey Gardens), Ana Gasteyer (“SNL,” Wicked), Alison Jaye Horowitz (Sunday in the Park with George), Laura Osnes (Anything Goes), Nicole Parker (“MadTV,” Wicked), and Steven Pasquale (The Intelligent Homosexual’s Guide…). Musical Director for the evening is Phil Reno.

To inquire about purchasing tickets or tables for the gala, or for more information, contact Glenn Grieves at (212) 727-7722 ext. 233 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit  Show-only tickets are $75 and $125 are now on-sale and can be purchased at  

The schedule for the evening is as follows:

6:30 p.m.         Cocktails and Silent Auction

7:30 p.m.         Dinner and Honoree Celebration

8:45 p.m.         Miscast 2011 Revue

This year’s auction will be hosted online with CharityBuzz and is now live.  The auction runs until March 24th.  Please visit for more information.

MCC Theater’s production of Sharr WhiteThe Other Place, directed by Joe Mantello and starring Laurie Metcalf begins performances March 10, 2011.  Later in the season, MCC’s 25th Anniversary season will conclude with Michael Weller’s Side Effects, directed by David Auburn. 

MCC Theater is currently celebrating its 25th anniversary season as one of New York City's leading Off Broadway theater companies, committed to presenting New York and world premieres each season.  When MCC Theater was founded in 1986, its mission was simple: to bring new theatrical voices to theater-going audiences.  MCC Theater continues to accomplish this yearly through three programmatic areas: its mainstage works; its Playwrights’ Coalition, which actively seeks and develops new and emerging writers; and its Education & Outreach Programs, including the Youth Company, which allow more than 1,200 students yearly to experience theater, increase literacy and discover their own voices through the creation of original theater pieces.  Notable MCC Theater highlights include: the 2008 Tony Award-nominated reasons to be pretty by Neil LaBute, last season’s The Pride, Fifty Words, the 2004 Tony-winning production of Bryony Lavery’s Frozen; Neil LaBute’s Fat Pig;Rebecca Gilman’s The Glory of Living; Marsha Norman’s Trudy Blue; Margaret Edson’s Pulitzer Prize-winning Wit; Tim Blake Nelson’s The Grey Zone and Alan Bowne’s Beirut.  Over the years, the dedication to the work of new and emerging artists has earned MCC Theater a variety of awards.

For more information about Miscast 2011 and MCC Theater, visit

#  #  #  #  #