The AndyGram

Sunday, Aug 20th

You are here: Home Theatre Reviews & Features 2010-11 Reviews Book Review: The Playbill Broadway Yearbook - Sixth Edition June 2009-May 2010
Saturday, 13 November 2010 13:10

Book Review: The Playbill Broadway Yearbook - Sixth Edition June 2009-May 2010

Written by

If you have never seen The Playbill Yearbook, think of it as the collegiate equivalent of a yearbook for the world’s largest college, but for Broadway.  This is editor Robert Viagas’s sixth year taking on the Herculean task of putting the yearbook together.  It contains pages for all the shows on Broadway that season (that elect to take part.)  This usually means assigning a “correspondent” from the cast of each show to help write and capture photos back-stage for the scrap-book portion of their show’s page.

Each show’s entry contains the Playbill cover and title and staff pages.  It also has headshots of the cast and staff.  But perhaps the most amazing part of The Playbill Yearbook is the coverage of the various ancillary support groups and service providers that are represented.  All the press offices are in there, the ad agencies, the various theatrical unions (and some you wouldn’t even think of as “Broadway” related, i.e. International Union of Operating Engineers?)  There are scenic companies, casting companies, and ancillary support organizations like The American Theatre Wing, the Broadway League and Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

The Playbill Yearbook is a comprehensive look at what was on Broadway this past season and more importantly the people who made it happen.  It offers you the chance to see the faces of the thousands of folks who work behind the scenes.  As in any good yearbook, all the folks in here are documented with photos; either headshots or in group photos.  This book serves as a reminder to all of the thousands of jobs and millions of dollars that are poured into the New York City economy by this thing we love, Broadway.  

Thank you Mr. VIagas and crew for giving us something that so concisely captures not only the details of the season but also the mood of the season.

Full disclosure is in order here, Mr. Viagas and I are old pals from the early days of Playbill Online, if that colors my review, then it speaks volumes about his work and dedication to our industry.

Purchase The Playbill Broadway Yearbook: June 2009 to May 2010: Sixth Annual Edition

Last modified on Saturday, 13 November 2010 18:46