The AndyGram

Thursday, Apr 19th

You are here: Home
Tuesday, 10 May 2011 11:25

Broadway League Presents 2011 League Awards for Excellence in Touring



Allen Becker, Michael Jenkins, Barb Preuss, Bill and Susan Ahearn,
Jan and Lee Morevistka, John Gottschalk, Mike Martella,
Bank of Oklahoma, Tzell Travel Group


(New York, NY) May 10, 2011 – The honorees of the Broadway League Awards, honoring excellence and achievement for Touring Broadway, were hosted today by George Hamilton during the Broadway League’s 2011 Spring Road Conference. First presented in 1992, the Broadway League Awards recognize the contributions of those who have displayed exemplary service to the Broadway industry and are considered innovators of their craft.

Charlotte St. Martin, Executive Director of The Broadway League, commented, "The League Award winners are representative of the outstanding members of The Broadway League in about 200 cities across the USA. This notable group helps the League to accomplish numerous goals on behalf of the commercial theatre on a national basis, and their exemplary leadership has helped launch the careers of many of today's most active members!"

Outstanding Achievement in Presenter Management (Samuel J. L’Hommedieu Award) was given to MICHAEL JENKINS of Dallas Summer Musicals for demonstrating excellence in management. (presented by Charlotte St. Martin)

Under the leadership of Jenkins, Dallas Summer Musicals has produced or invested in 123 Broadway productions and presented 438 national tours. Jenkins is a leader in his community, founding programs that bring Broadway and the arts to special needs and at-risk youth in the Dallas area.

Outstanding Achievement in Road Marketing was given to BARB PREUSS of the Civic Center of Greater Des Moines for her dedication to the Willis Broadway Series. (presented by Anita Dloniak)

Be it a “Media Preview Day,” working with the Iowa Lottery, or utilizing social media, Preuss brings creativity and collaboration to the success of every production. She was one of the first to fully utilize social media in marketing shows, and her direction of social media campaigns became models for presenters of those shows in other markets.

ALLEN BECKER, Founder of Pace Entertainment Group, was bestowed the Distinguished Lifetime Service Award. (presented by Miles Wilkin)

PACE Theatrical reinvented theatrical touring, bringing Broadway to the masses across America. Allen Becker’s vision of vertical integration grew to include theater ownership, strategic partnerships with performing arts groups, universities and municipalities, subscription development, producing and investing for touring rights, launching a booking agency, and merchandising. PACE Theatrical managed subscription series in 26 cities with offices in Houston, New York, Los Angeles and London.  At the time of the company's purchase by SFX Entertainment in 1998, PACE was the largest privately owned entertainment company in the world. After selling PACE, Becker continued his career in the entertainment industry, serving as a consultant to SFX and then Clear Channel Entertainment.  He continues to work in Houston managing several businesses and remains actively involved in legitimate theater, still operating theaters in the south.

The George MacPherson Road Award was presented to TZELL TRAVEL GROUP. (presented by Morag MacPherson and Amy Jacobs)

This is the second time this award has been given and honors the memory of George MacPherson, a veteran producer who recognized the vast potential in sharing high quality touring productions with audiences around the world. Tzell Travel represents the true spirit of a touring warrior, something George knew about better than anyone.  “The show must go on,” but that can only happen if the individuals who put on the show get into town. Tzell Travel represents the very best of making it happen so there can be a show, every time.  

STAR OF TOURING BROADWAY AWARDS, designed to honor board members, politicians, donors and volunteers who have given support to promote and enrich the Broadway Series in their hometowns, were given to: (announced by Al Nocciolino)

Bank of Oklahoma - Bank of Oklahoma’s financial and promotional commitment to supporting Broadway in Oklahoma has allowed Celebrity Attractions to bring the very best to the Midwest.

John Gottschalk - John Gottschalk has been Chairman of the Omaha Performing Arts Society since its inception in 2001. He has been instrumental in bringing the best of touring Broadway shows to the Omaha Metropolitan area.

Mike Martella - Mike Martella, President of the Van Wezel Performing Arts Hall Foundation Board of Directors, introduces over 25,000 area students annually to the performing arts. He is an amazing advocate for the arts, a phenomenal philanthropist, and a vigorous volunteer.

Jan and Lee Morevistka - Jan and Lee Morevistka have been volunteers for Starlight Theatre in Kansas City, MO since 1969. Jan has led the Ambassador Advisory Team, and served as captain of special events in 2010.

Bill and Susan Ahearn – For ASU Gammage Donors and Volunteers in Tempe, AZ, Bill Ahearn volunteers as a photographer for ASU’s Camp Broadway, and when Camp Broadway was to perform the opening number of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade, Bill was invited to work with the 500 campers for a week of rehearsals and the performance.    

#  #  #

The Broadway League, founded in 1930, is the national trade association for the Broadway industry.  The League’s 700-plus members include theatre owners and operators, producers, presenters, and general managers in over 240 North American cities, as well as suppliers of goods and services to the theatre industry. Each year, League members bring Broadway to nearly 30 million people in New York and on tour across the U.S. and Canada. For more information, visit, or follow The Broadway League on Twitter @TheBwayLeague or on Facebook at
Last modified on Wednesday, 11 May 2011 20:58